Middle EastWorld News

Hamas announces its new political bureau



Hamas Movement announced on Sunday the end of its internal elections and revealed the identity of eight members of its new political bureau headed by Ismail Haneyya.

In a statement on Sunday, Hamas said that the Shura Council of the Movement held its regular session in Gaza and Doha on Saturday and announced the election of Haneyya as the new chairman of the Hamas political bureau.

It identified the political bureau members as follows: Mousa Abu Marzouk, Yehya al-Sinwar, Saleh al-Arouri, Khalil al-Hayya, Mohammed Nazzal, Maher Obaid, Ezzet al-Resheq, and Fathi Hammad.

Hamas affirmed that values of consensus and democracy prevailed among its members in all stages of the internal elections whether in the West Bank, the Gaza Strip or Israeli jails or abroad.

Hamas praised the former chairman of its political bureau, Khaled Mishaal, who led the Movement for more than 20 years, left a clear positive mark in the Movement, and worked to improve and activate the role of Hamas at the Palestinian, Arab, Islamic and international levels.

The Movement vowed to continue to adhere to the national constants and defend the Palestinian rights until the attainment of freedom and the achievement of the right of return.

It concluded by saluting the Palestinian prisoners, who are on hunger strike in Israeli jails to extract their legitimate rights, and assuring them that the time of freedom is near.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button